“Be Careful What You Wish For”…

…”When it rains, it pours” or “Shit! with a capital S”. These are the thoughts that were running through my mind a day ago. Why? Well because out of nowhere I went from being unemployed, on the verge of burning my resume and joining the circus to having four job opportunities on the table at once. 9am phone interview with Company A, 1PM follow-up interview at Company B, 3pm meeting with Company C, a.k.a. ‘Dream Company/Candyland’, and the kicker, a 6pm phone call to Company D with an answer to their offer from eight days earlier.

First, a word of hope to all of you out there searching for employment….for that direct deposit every two weeks and the subsequent ability to once again eat, live, shop—to essentially be free! It doesn’t have to be a ‘needle in a haystack’ search, because there is an abundance of jobs out there. You just have to work to find them. Step 1 is to talk to who you know. Because, like in my case, someone will know someone, who knows someone else that needs you and has the power to do something about getting you.

I should have figured when I told my fairy godmother that I needed a job asap, that in a matter of days the calls would start coming in. I would hang up the phone with one recruiter and no joke, minutes later a message would land in my mailbox from another. Overnight I was a wanted woman. An interview here, another there, another there. Good opportunity, great opportunity, oh my gosh, even better opportunity! My days went from sleeping in and mid-day workouts to back-to-back interviews and aligning stamps on the envelopes of my handwritten thank-you notes. I went from zero to 90 in a week, on a mad mission to find work, to prove that I was the best and that yes, I would get that job.

But job, singular, it wasn’t! I had four opportunities, simultaneously being dangled in front of my face, each enticing in its own different way. Just as I began to feel a sense of relief that finding employment again was actually attainable, I felt overwhelmed by all of my prospects. Then I took a deep breath and reminded myself that like any search to find something you really want, the job hunt is a game, and you have to know how to play it in order to remain standing. And as all games go, the greater the challenge, the greater the thrill. The better the writers of the game, the more exciting it is to play.

Exciting sure, but how was I supposed to figure this one out? I suppose my prayers were heard, because after waking up with a knot in my stomach, by midday, it seemed that everything had fallen into place. I had found my job. It wasn’t the one I was really hoping for, but I have to believe it’s where I’m meant to be. I have to remember that as with every pro, there is a con and with every great opportunity there is disappointment, and sometimes it’s those downsides and disappointments that help us find our answer, help us win the game.

2 thoughts on ““Be Careful What You Wish For”…

  1. Jodi says:

    Awesome I am so glad things are turning up for you. I can’t wait to hear about your new job.

  2. FortyNotOut says:

    Wow… am so pleased for you. Jobs are like buses…. nothing for ages and then they all arrive at once! You must be busy as no updates! Hope it’s going well for you! xx

Leave a Reply

