Thoughts on the Royal Wedding

Yesterday, I woke up at four o’clock to watch the Royal Wedding. (Yes, I’m one of those.) Realizing nothing good was really happening until about 5:30, I ended up napping on my sofa with the television turned down for another hour-and-a-half, so to relieve my burning eyes. When I woke again, I watched every minute I could until it was time to leave for work. At my desk I couldn’t stop thinking about it, and today it was still on my mind. Earlier tonight I watched the complete rerun on PBS World.

One day last week, before the big day arrived, I had to email a woman in London for work. I didn’t want to assume that just because she was British, she was excited, because just as there are here, I’m sure over in England, there are some who care and others who do not. So I asked her. She said that the spirit in London was amazing—the streets, decorated with Union Jacks and filled with parties and happy people so pleased at this forthcoming marriage. And she said there were tons of Americans there. She was surprised to see how many.

I didn’t make it to London for the celebration, but clearly I was one here on US soil, that was thrilled. I’ve had a thing for Prince William for years. I’ve always found him handsome and in a way, seen him as a sort of continuation of his mother. I was fond of her too and oddly enough, I think of her often. And when it was announced that Kate would be Prince William’s bride, I was glad. I’m not sure why; maybe because William looks like someone who would only choose the best. When Kate first appeared on the scene I remember thinking what most of us probably thought: What a pretty girl! What a lucky girl! (And, what a smart mother who encouraged daughter Kate to attend university where William would be attending. Perhaps she did so thinking maybe one day her daughter might marry a prince. Way to go Carole!)

So Royal Wedding Day finally arrived. I think it was all that those of us who cared wanted it to be. Probably more. And it had the world talking. There was the beautiful couple, the famous dress, Pippa’s figure, Prince Harry’s head of hair, the guest list, the kiss, and of course, missing Diana. It was a spectacular sight, literally, like something out of a fairy tale, with the horse drawn carriage, the hats (yes, even Princess Beatrice’s), the Queen, Westminster Abbey, and the city of London in all its glory. And it was nothing short of lovely, seeing William and Catherine, these two bright people who are so in love, take this new steps in their lives. I will remember it for a long time. And I will try to remember these words, from the reading from Romans 12, which I think especially today, are a good reminder for us all.

Love must be sincere.

Hate what is evil; cling to what is good.

Be devoted to one another in love.

Honor one another above yourselves.

Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn.

Live in harmony with one another.

Do not be proud, but be willing to associate with people of low position.

Do not be conceited.

Do not repay anyone evil for evil.

Be careful to do what is right in the eyes of everyone.

 If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.

All in all, I say it was a royal job well done.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Royal Wedding

  1. jdnyc123 says:

    Agreed!

  2. Jodi says:

    She did great. I am sure it must have been an out of body experienc walking down the aisle. IT is bad enough when it is just friends and family. Angie got married this weekend we went she was pretty exactly the wedding u can imagine her having (wild flowers and funky reception theme).

Leave a Reply

